Primary & Permanent Teeth

Primary teeth, or baby teeth, are the first set of teeth to come in. Most children have all 20 baby teeth by age three. 


Permanent teeth push primary teeth out of the way, causing them to fall out. By about age 14, all primary teeth have been replaced by 28 permanent teeth.

A full set of permanent teeth, 32 teeth in all, is achieved by the late teens to early twenties with the arrival of the wisdom teeth.


Types of Teeth

  Incisors are shaped like tiny chisels that are used for cutting and chopping food.  Your front four teeth on the top and
bottom of your mouth are incisors.
    The pointy shaped teeth next to your incisors are canines. You have two canines on top and two on the bottom and use them to tear food. 
    When all the permanent teeth have come in, four premolars are found next to each canine. Premolars are bigger and stronger than canines and incisors. They have ridges that are used to crush and grind food. 
    The last type of tooth is the molar. The 12 molars (six on the top jaw and six on the bottom jaw) are very wide with several ridges to grind up food so it can be swallowed. 

Types of Teeth


The crown is the part of the tooth that you can see above the gumline. It is covered by enamel.

The root is located under the gumline and encases the pulp.


Types of Teeth

    Enamel protects the inside of the tooth by acting as a barricade. Enamel is the hardest substance in the human body.

Dentin is located underneath enamel to protect the pulp and is a substance similar to bone. The majority of the tooth is comprised of dentin.

Pulp contains each tooth’s nerve endings and the blood vessels that bring nutrients to the tooth.