2024 Annual Award Winners

PDA Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Bruce Terry

The 2024 Pennsylvania Dental Association Distinguished Service Award winner is
Bruce R. Terry, DMD, for his leadership and service to the dental profession at the
local, state and national level.

Dr. Terry is truly an extraordinary individual. In between
his training sessions and trips to climb the highest mountain peak on each continent, he
always found time to support his profession and serve organized dentistry.
Currently, he serves on the ADA Council on Dental Education and Licensure while
holding positions as secretary and editor for the Second District Valley Forge Dental
Association. On the state level, Dr. Terry has served in numerous roles, including,
delegate, Second District trustee, Pennsylvania Dental Journal editor (2008-2016) and
president (2017-18). However, he is most proud of the leadership roles he has held with
MOM-n-PA since the inaugural two-day, free dental clinic in 2013. His service as
Facilities Chair and a MOM-n-PA board member has helped provide dental care to
thousands of needy Pennsylvania citizens. The Annual Awards Committee is honored
to name Dr. Terry as the recipient of the 2024 PDA Distinguished Service Award.






PDA Public Service Award 

Dr. Bernadette Logan

Bernadette A. Logan, DDS, is the recipient of the 2024 Pennsylvania Dental
Association Public Service Award for her contributions to improving the oral health of
the public through her work with Give Kids a Smile (GKAS) events on the local and
national level. Dr. Logan served five years on the National GKAS Advisory Board while
she was a member on the ADA Council on Access, Prevention and Interprofessional
Relations (CAPIR). Locally, she helps to plan and execute a series of annual GKAS
clinics in Chester and Delaware counties, something she has done since 2003 as co-
chair of the GKAS Program for the Dental Society of Chester County and Delaware
County. PDA is pleased to recognize Dr. Logan and commends her efforts to provide
dental care for the underserved.




PDA Recognition Award 

Dr. Roopali Kulkarni

Roopali Kulkarni, DMD, MPH, will receive the 2024 Pennsylvania Dental
Association Recognition Award recognizing her passion for education and her ability
to inspire current and future dental professionals. Dr. Kulkarni serves as the Assistant
Director of the Postdoctoral Oral Medicine Program and is an Assistant Professor of
Oral Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine. In 2022, she
received the school’s Earle Bank Hoyt Award for dedication and excellence in teaching.
Dr. Kulkarni has published articles in several peer reviewed journals and co-authored 5
chapters in the October 2023 edition of Dental Clinics of North America. She also
serves as an ADA National Media Spokesperson; she is a former chair of PDA’s New
Dentist Committee and a member of the Board of Governors for the Philadelphia
County Dental Society. She recently was honored as one of ADA’s 2024 10 Under 10
Award recipients. PDA is pleased to recognize Dr. Kulkarni’s achievements and her
dedication to the science and art of dentistry.